What is Ontario Adult Literacy Curriculum Framework (OALCF)?

The Ontario Adult Literacy Curriculum Framework (OALCF) gives direction to service providers on how to deliver the Literacy and Basic Skills program.  Through the OALCF, agencies provide services that are learner-centered, task-based and seamless to help clients reach their goals easily.

What is the Framework?

OALCF identifies five goal paths for people going through the LBS program.  The paths are:

  • Employment
  • Apprenticeship
  • Secondary School Credit
  • Post-Secondary School
  • Independence

OALCF also identifies six competencies (skills and abilities) that we all need to achieve these goals at work, in the community and at home.  Activities are used to build skills in these competencies to help you understand why you need to learn them and how you will use them later.

For example, if you are interested in:

  • Baking - you might learn fractions by looking at a recipe
  • Wood working - you could be asked to take measurements

The six competencies are:

1) Find and Use Information in:

  • text (books, newspapers, websites)
  • documents (forms, maps, charts)
  • video (films, TV, presentations)

2) Communicate Ideas and Information:

  • with other people (conversations)
  • in writing (essays and stories)
  • on documents (forms)
  • through creative media (journals, art)

3) Understand and Use Numbers to:

  • manage money (budgets, costs)
  • manage time (schedules, timing)
  • manage information (compare, analyze)
  • use measurements (measure, calculate)

4) Use Digital Technology use as:

  • computers (job applications, programs)
  • internet (search engines, banking, research)
  • mobile apps

5) Manage Learning to:

  • set and track short terms goals
  • understand how you learn

6) Engage with Other such as:

  • working in a team
  • deal with conflict

To view the OALCF poster please click here.

For more information on the OALCF please visit the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development website.